CapNews Company filings desk
2026-10-24 10,802 published 1,895 in deficit (18%) 3,008 weaker year on year 1,266,270 filings read since 2026-06-20

Home › Monthly summaries › August 2026

UK company accounts in August 2026: 260,165 published, 17.6% in deficit

Every set of accounts Companies House published in August 2026, read and summarised in one place: 260,165 across 21 publishing days.

Cap News filings desk Edited by Sam Allcock 21 publishing days 260,165 filings analysed

Companies House published 260,165 sets of company accounts across the 21 publishing days Cap News collected in August, 1 August to 29 August. 45,026 of the 256,529 with a readable balance sheet reported liabilities larger than assets, 17.6 per cent, much the same as the 17.2 per cent in July 2026. The busiest day was Saturday 1 August, with 32,189 sets; the quietest was Saturday 8 August, with 6,672.

260,165accounts published
45,026in deficit, 17.6%
70,230weaker than last year
137,108stronger than last year

Measured against their own prior year, 70,230 filings were weaker and 137,108 stronger, so 33.9 per cent of those with a comparable year went backwards.

The share in deficit ran from 15.1 per cent on 7 August to 21.1 per cent on 29 August.

Most of the month's accounts were for years ending in November 2025 (80,764 sets, 31 per cent of those with a period end), followed by December 2025.

Among industries with at least 300 filings in the month, unlicensed restaurants and cafes had the highest share in deficit, 31.8 per cent of 1,713.

Day by day

Each row is one Companies House daily file, dated the morning it was published. A file covers the accounts registered the previous day; Tuesday's covers Saturday to Monday. The daily reports for these dates were compiled on 12 September 2026, when Cap News launched, and are summarised here instead.

PublishedAccountsIn deficitShareWeaker than a year earlier
Sat 1 Aug 32,189 6,405 20.1% 36.8%
Tue 4 Aug 11,489 1,767 15.6% 29.9%
Wed 5 Aug 7,833 1,204 15.6% 30.9%
Thu 6 Aug 7,324 1,180 16.4% 31.1%
Fri 7 Aug 7,165 1,069 15.1% 31.0%
Sat 8 Aug 6,672 1,004 15.3% 30.3%
Tue 11 Aug 11,377 1,720 15.4% 30.9%
Wed 12 Aug 8,665 1,349 15.9% 33.8%
Thu 13 Aug 8,542 1,355 16.1% 32.7%
Fri 14 Aug 8,662 1,365 16.0% 33.8%
Sat 15 Aug 8,022 1,270 16.0% 31.2%
Tue 18 Aug 13,708 2,216 16.4% 31.3%
Wed 19 Aug 10,726 1,734 16.4% 32.0%
Thu 20 Aug 10,248 1,662 16.5% 33.8%
Fri 21 Aug 10,202 1,704 17.0% 34.1%
Sat 22 Aug 9,543 1,696 18.1% 34.3%
Tue 25 Aug 16,606 2,816 17.2% 33.6%
Wed 26 Aug 14,308 2,493 17.7% 34.7%
Thu 27 Aug 15,265 2,673 17.8% 33.8%
Fri 28 Aug 18,612 3,551 19.3% 35.5%
Sat 29 Aug 23,007 4,793 21.1% 37.6%
0%12.5%25% average 16.9% 08-0108-0708-1308-1908-2508-29
29 August in red at 21.1 per cent, against an average of 16.9 per cent over the 21 publishing days from 1 August. Source: Companies House bulk accounts data, parsed by Cap News.

Industries that filed most

IndustryFilingsIn deficit
Other letting and operating of own or leased real estate15,62323.9%
Buying and selling of own real estate13,02529.5%
Management consultancy activities other than financial management11,40714.9%
Other business support service activities n.e.c.9,07816.0%
Residents property management7,2724.6%
Information technology consultancy activities6,70014.9%
Other service activities n.e.c.6,16516.6%
Development of building projects5,71622.0%

Highest and lowest deficit shares by industry

Among industries with at least 300 filings in August 2026.

IndustryFilingsIn deficit
Unlicensed restaurants and cafes1,71331.8%
Licensed restaurants2,12330.8%
Public houses and bars1,30930.8%
Buying and selling of own real estate13,02529.5%
Other holiday and other collective accommodation65426.8%
Retail sale via mail order houses or via Internet5,40126.6%
Take-away food shops and mobile food stands2,66726.0%
Fitness facilities68425.9%
Lowest
Residents property management7,2724.6%
Dormant Company5,4105.2%
Non-trading company1,8605.4%
Dental practice activities9737.4%
Roofing activities7008.7%

By registered office

The towns with the most filings. A registered office is an address for service, often an accountant's, so this is a weaker signal than the industry split.

TownFilingsIn deficit
London45,83920.8%
Manchester4,79717.6%
Birmingham4,19918.7%
Glasgow2,96816.1%
Bristol2,88516.9%
Leeds2,47217.5%
Nottingham2,20018.6%
Leicester2,16219.9%

Largest employers in the month's accounts

By average employees as each filing states it, shown for size only.

CompanyIndustryRegistered officeEmployeesPrior yearPublished
LANTERN HOLDCO LIMITEDActivities of production holding companiesLondon37,000 39,000 4 Aug
AMEY SERVICES LIMITEDHuman resources provision and management of human resources functionsLondon9,871 10,280 19 Aug
SWANTON CARE & COMMUNITY LIMITEDOther human health activitiesCoventry3,492 2,707 29 Aug
SUNSHINE CARE TOPCO LIMITEDActivities of other holding companies n.e.c.Coventry3,492 2,707 29 Aug
ROOSTER TOPCO LIMITEDActivities of other holding companies n.e.c.London2,951 not stated 4 Aug
LEMON PEPPER HOLDINGS LIMITEDLicensed restaurantsLondon2,941 2,216 4 Aug
EDUCATION MANAGEMENT CORPORATION LIMITEDActivities of other holding companies n.e.c.Harrow1,993 not stated 27 Aug
BIRKIN CLEANING SERVICES LIMITEDGeneral cleaning of buildingsGrays1,636 1,375 8 Aug
SEASALT HOLDINGS LIMITEDOther retail sale in non-specialised storesFalmouth1,370 1,357 27 Aug
BENNETT RESTAURANTS LTDUnlicensed restaurants and cafesLondon1,369 1,895 12 Aug

A deficit here means the accounts reported net liabilities at the balance sheet date. It is not insolvency, and Companies House does not verify what is filed with it. How the figures are produced is on the method page.

PreviousUK company accounts in July 2026: 302,123 published, 17.2% in deficit NextUK company accounts in September 2026: 340,936 published, 17.2% in deficit