Home › Daily filings › 15 September 2026
Property trading: 24% of accounts published on 15 September in deficit, against 30% usually
Accounts published at Companies House on Tuesday 15 September 2026, in the file covering accounts registered from Saturday 12 to Monday 14 September: 14,667 sets, 15 per cent of them in deficit.
Fewer companies classed as property trading than usual reported a deficit in the accounts Companies House published on Tuesday 15 September 2026: 174 of 715, 24 per cent, where the industry's earlier filings ran at 29.7 per cent. That was the lowest share for the industry on any of the 60 earlier days it had 30 or more filings. Across the whole file the share was 15.5 per cent, slightly below the average of earlier days.
Key points
- 14,667 sets of accounts, 49 per cent more than the 9,836 on the previous publishing day.
- Share in deficit: 15.5 per cent (earlier days averaged 16.8).
- Largest employer filing: PROACTIVE PERSONNEL LIMITED (Telford), 1,357 staff.
- By registered office, London ran at 19 per cent in deficit across 2,848 filings.
Where else the industry mix moved
Behind property trading, the next clearest departure was other professional, scientific and technical activities n.e.c.: 7 per cent of 211 filings in deficit, against 14.1 per cent in its earlier filings. For property across the whole series, see Property files more accounts than any other industry, and a quarter do not balance.
| Industry | Filings | In deficit | Usually | Gap (points) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hospital activities | 32 | 25% | 11.4% | +13.6 |
| Freight transport by road | 145 | 21% | 16.6% | +4.8 |
| Taxi operation | 45 | 31% | 21.6% | +9.5 |
| Other activities of employment placement agencies | 77 | 21% | 16.1% | +4.7 |
| Buying and selling of own real estate | 715 | 24% | 29.7% | -5.4 |
| Other professional, scientific and technical activities n.e.c. | 211 | 7% | 14.1% | -7.0 |
Largest employer filing: PROACTIVE PERSONNEL LIMITED
PROACTIVE PERSONNEL LIMITED, registered in Telford, was the largest employer in the file, reporting an average of 1,357 staff. In all, 44 filings reported 100 or more employees. Headcounts are as each filing states them and are shown for size only.
| Company | Industry | Registered office | Employees | Prior year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PROACTIVE PERSONNEL LIMITED | Temporary employment agency activities | Telford | 1,357 | not stated |
| PROACTIVE PERSONNEL HOLDINGS LIMITED | Other activities of employment placement agencies | Telford | 1,357 | not stated |
| WHITE ROSE UK LTD | Unlicensed restaurants and cafes | Plymouth | 1,343 | 1,455 |
| HUNKY DORY RESTAURANTS LTD | Unlicensed restaurants and cafes | Cardiff | 1,301 | 1,491 |
| LONGLEAT ENTERPRISES LIMITED | Other amusement and recreation activities n.e.c. | Warminster | 584 | 566 |
| L. BENNETT & SON LIMITED | Wholesale trade of motor vehicle parts and accessories | Welwyn Garden City | 520 | 367 |
| DHP FAMILY LTD | Public houses and bars | Nottingham | 384 | 406 |
| THETFORD PRODUCTIONS LIMITED | Motion picture production activities | London | 329 | not stated |
A heavier file than the last one
The file was markedly heavier than Saturday 12 September: 14,667 sets against 9,836. A week earlier the count was similar, at 13,149. The share in deficit, 15.5 per cent, sat close to its usual 16.8. That is down from 17.2 per cent in the previous file. More balance sheets than usual improved on the prior year. Only 30.9 per cent were weaker (3,483 filings), against an average of 33.1.
London stands out by registered office
London registered offices accounted for 2,848 filings, 531 of them in deficit (19 per cent, against 20.7 per cent in the town's earlier filings). An accountant or formation agent at one address can move a town's figure. Why so many accounts come from so few towns: Where Britain files its accounts.
| Town | Filings | In deficit | Usually |
|---|---|---|---|
| London | 2,848 | 19% | 20.7% |
| Bury St. Edmunds | 51 | 29% | 17.1% |
| Romford | 50 | 6% | 18.6% |
| Bristol | 176 | 10% | 16.6% |
Most accounts cover years ending December 2025
5,950 sets, 41 per cent of those stating a period, were for years ending in December 2025. March 2026 accounted for 2,175; January 2026 accounted for 1,077. A further 876 covered periods that ended more than a year before the file was published.
A deficit here means the accounts reported net liabilities at the balance sheet date. It is not insolvency, and Companies House does not verify what is filed with it.
The 20 publishing days to 15 September
How the figures are produced, and what they cannot tell you, is on the method page. This report is part of September 2026 in summary.